Best-of list · rule shown

Best Small Gun Safe: Rifle Safes for 10 Long Guns or Fewer, Sorted by Specs

Small gun safes are where the gun count on the box is at its most optimistic. This list keeps gun safes advertised for 10 long guns or fewer, sorted by fire rating first, then by steel thickness.

Illustration of a narrow closed rifle safe with a keypad standing in a closet corner

The list

10 models · checked weekly

The ruleGun safes advertised for 10 long guns or fewer, sorted by fire rating, then steel thickness.

We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no cost to you. Disclosure

10 models
Comparison tableSort by any column · tap a photo or name to open Amazon
ModelGun capacityFire protectionSteelOutside H · footprintWeightLock / entryCalifornia DOJAmazon
KAER 1320K1320KKAER
3 (advertised)None stated14 ga52 · 9.85 × 8.66 in52.9 lbKeypad + Key—Check price
3 (advertised)None stated14 ga52 · 9.85 × 8.66 in52.9 lbKeypad + Key—Check price
2 (advertised)None stated14 ga40.25 · 13 × 6.5 in—Keypad + Biometric + Key—Check price
2 (advertised)None stated14 ga47.25 · 13 × 6.5 in—Keypad + Biometric + KeyListedCheck price
5 (advertised)None stated15 ga54.33 · 11.8 × 11.02 in63 lbKeypad + Key—Check price
BlackSmith Station-SF0106Station-SF0106BlackSmith
6 (advertised)None stated16 ga57.09 · 13.78 × 11.82 in86.2 lbBiometric + Keypad + Key—Check price
Barska AX11652AX11652Barska
4 (advertised)None stated—52.17 · 9.8 × 8.6 in63 lbBiometric + KeyListedCheck price
Barska AX12760AX12760Barska
4 (advertised)None stated—52.17 · 9.8 × 8.6 in66 lbBiometric + Keypad + KeyListedCheck price
BlackSmith SE0103SE0103BlackSmith
3 (advertised)None stated—52 · 9.8 × 8.7 in57.32 lbKeypad + Key—Check price
Fortress 4NFBE4NFBEFortress
4 (advertised)None stated—54.33 · 11.81 × 11.02 in59.4 lbBiometric + Keypad + Key—Check price

The rule: 10 long guns or fewer, then the specs decide

One condition puts a gun safe on this list, and it has to be confirmed in writing by the manufacturer or the Amazon listing.

  • Advertised for 10 long guns or fewer. The maker's own gun count. Where a listing gives a range, such as "2–3," we use the upper figure.

The list is then sorted by stated fire rating, longest first. Safes with the same fire rating, or none, are sorted by steel thickness, thickest first. A safe whose gauge isn't stated still qualifies on size, but it sorts below those that state one.

The table shows the top ten at our last check. There is no editor's score, no star rating and no popularity sort. A higher row means a longer stated fire rating or thicker stated steel. That's the whole ranking.

Why fire rating and steel decide the best small gun safe

Small gun safes are usually bought for one of two reasons: the space is tight, or the collection is small. Either way, the buyer still wants the same two things from steel: resist a fire for a stated time, and resist someone with tools for longer than they'd like.

Fire rating comes first because it's the rarest spec at this size. A small, light gun safe has thin walls and little room for insulation. When one does state a fire rating, that's worth putting at the top. At our last check, none of the safes that pass this rule claimed one. Several say outright that they're not fire-rated. That's honest, and more useful than a vague "fire-resistant."

Steel thickness comes second. A lower gauge number means thicker steel. Under the federal U.S. Standard Gauge, 14-gauge is 0.0781 in and 16-gauge is 0.0625 in. Some makers state thickness in millimeters instead. We show what they state and don't convert it into a gauge they didn't claim.

What the sort doesn't measure: door construction, hinge protection, the gap between door and frame, and lock quality. Bolt count is a marketing number. A small safe with five bolts and a thin door is still a thin door.

How to read the list: the gun count is the least useful number

The advertised gun count assumes thin, unscoped long guns packed shoulder to shoulder. A "4-gun" safe with 6.3 inches of interior depth holds four of something. Whether it's four of yours depends on the scopes. Buy bigger than the box says.

Read the table in this order:

  • Interior dimensions. Height, width and depth inside the door. Compare them with your longest gun, optic included. Where the interior isn't stated, the table shows the outside size, and you'll lose some of that to walls and the door panel.
  • Steel. Gauge or millimeters. "—" means neither the maker nor the listing states it.
  • Lock and backup. Keypad, fingerprint or both, and the backup key. Note where the batteries live and whether there's an external power port.
  • Mounting. Floor bolts, wall bolts or both. A small gun safe that isn't anchored can be carried off.

Sources matter. A value marked as from the manufacturer is stronger than one from the Amazon listing alone. Several rows on this page rely on listing data only, because the brand's own site gives no specs. Where sources conflict, we say so in the verdict or leave the field empty.

Where a small gun safe goes: closet, wall or floor

A small gun safe is usually tall and narrow, which is why it fits where a full-size safe won't. It also means it's top-heavy and light. Both are reasons to anchor it.

  • Closet. The usual spot. Check the closet's door opening and ceiling height against the safe's outside dimensions, then leave room for the safe's door to swing fully open. A door that only opens partway turns a 4-gun safe into a 2-gun safe.
  • Wall. Several safes in this table mount to the wall with anchor bolts into the studs. Read the manual for the stud spacing it expects. In a rental, drilling into a wall or floor needs the owner's permission.
  • Floor. Pre-drilled holes in the base let you bolt into concrete or a wood subfloor. The hardware in the box may not suit your floor; the manual says what it's meant for.

Weight is the other half of the question. At our last check, the safes on this page weighed under 90 lb each, so anchoring matters more than weight. An unanchored small safe can leave the house with everything in it. The bolting guide covers floors, anchors and renters.

Electronic locks need batteries, and some of these safes take theirs inside the door. Check whether the safe has an external power box or port, and keep the backup key somewhere other than the closet it's standing in.

Fingerprint locks: check the model, keep the key

Several safes on this list use a fingerprint reader. Since 2023 the CPSC has announced recalls and warnings for a number of biometric gun safes because the fingerprint lock could open for unauthorized users. In January 2025 it warned consumers to stop using the biometric feature on about 183,000 Stack-On biometric gun safes, pistol vaults and lock boxes.

Before you buy any fingerprint model, check its model number against CPSC notices. Choose one with a backup key, and keep that key where only you can reach it.

Children and storage law: the plain part

If children live in or visit the home, the safe should stay locked whenever the guns are not in your hands. The U.S. Department of Justice's Safe Storage Fact Sheet says keeping firearms locked, unloaded and stored away from ammunition can significantly reduce the risk that children and teens use them to hurt themselves or others. Keep the code and backup key where a child can't find them.

Storage law is set mostly by states and differs between them. Nothing here is legal advice. Some safes in this table state California DOJ certification, per their maker. California's gun safe standards explain what that means.

What's not in the list, and why

  • Safes with no advertised gun count. The rule needs the maker's number. Handgun safes and lock boxes don't state one and aren't on this list.
  • Safes advertised for more than 10 long guns. They're on other pages.
  • Gun cabinets sold only as cabinets. A product listed as both a gun safe and a cabinet can appear; a cabinet alone can't.
  • Unavailable products. Anything not live on Amazon US at our last check drops out and returns when it's back.
  • Amazon's own brands. Never included on this site.

Products change from week to week. The rule doesn't.

Who should look elsewhere

  • You want every small gun safe, rated or not. The small gun safes type page lists all of them with filters.
  • Fire protection is the priority. See fire-rated gun safes, or the best gun safes list, which requires a 30-minute fire rating and 14-gauge or thicker steel.
  • The safe has to fit a closet or a light floor. Closet gun safes filters by height and depth; apartment gun safes filters by weight.
  • You're not sure what size you need. The gun safe dimensions guide turns interior measurements into a realistic gun count.

Measure your longest gun with its optic. Compare it with the interior, not the box. Then bolt it down.

Model by model

KAER 1320K

KAER 1320K

Fire rating: none claimed. Steel: 14-gauge, per the Amazon listing. Interior: not stated; outside 52 x 9.85 x 8.66 in. Lock: keypad with backup key; three bolts, 0.79 in. The title says 2–3 long guns; the listing fits 2 rifles up to 44 in. Thickest steel in this list, alongside its sibling.

Buy it ifyour two rifles are under 44 in without scopes and you want the thickest steel on this list.

Skip it ifyour rifles run longer than 44 in or carry scopes.

Check price
KAER KAER 3 Gun Safe for Rifles and Pistols,Fully Assembled Long Rifle Safe

KAER KAER 3 Gun Safe for Rifles and Pistols,Fully Assembled Long Rifle Safe

Fire rating: none claimed. Steel: 14-gauge, per the Amazon listing. Interior: not stated; outside 52 x 9.85 x 8.66 in. Lock: keypad with emergency key and an external emergency power box; wrong-code and vibration alarm. Same shell and gauge as the row above, with a removable shelf. Advertised for 3 long guns, which is the generous reading.

Buy it ifyou want a 14-gauge keypad safe with a removable shelf and a wrong-code and vibration alarm.

Skip it ifyou need maker-confirmed specs; all of these come from the Amazon listing.

Check price
KAER KAER Long Gun Safe for Rifles and Pistols with Electronic Lock Assembled | Rifle Safe for Home,Gun Cabinet for 3-5 Shotguns 5 Handguns,Removable Gun Rack,Shelf,LED Light,Ammo Storage,Gun Owner

KAER KAER Long Gun Safe for Rifles and Pistols with Electronic Lock Assembled | Rifle Safe for Home,Gun Cabinet for 3-5 Shotguns 5 Handguns,Removable Gun Rack,Shelf,LED Light,Ammo Storage,Gun Owner

Fire rating: none claimed. Steel: 15-gauge, per the Amazon listing. Interior: not stated; outside 54.33 x 11.8 x 11.02 in. Lock: keypad with two backup keys and an external power box. The listing says 3–5 rifles up to 53 in, plus 4–5 handguns. The tallest of the KAER rows.

Buy it ifyou have three rifles up to 53 in plus a few handguns, and want a keypad with two backup keys.

Skip it ifyou'd rather not count on the top of a 3–5 range; plan on the lower figure.

Check price
BlackSmith Station-SF0106

BlackSmith Station-SF0106

Fire rating: none claimed. Steel: 16-gauge, per BlackSmith. Interior: not stated; outside 57.09 x 13.78 x 11.82 in, 86.2 lb. Lock: fingerprint (30 prints), keypad and spare keys, plus a separate lock box on top. Advertised for 6 rifles and 2 handguns. The largest advertised count on this page.

Buy it ifyou can mount to a wall and want the largest advertised count here plus a separate lock box on top.

Skip it ifyou want to bolt it to the floor; BlackSmith lists wall mounting only.

Check price
Barska AX11652

Barska AX11652

Fire rating: none; Barska's spec table says so. Steel: 2 mm, per Barska; gauge not stated. Interior: 51.75 x 9.7 x 6.3 in, 1.83 cu ft. Lock: fingerprint (120 prints) with backup key; 4 AA batteries plus an external battery pack. Barska states California DOJ certification. One of the few rows with a full interior measurement.

Buy it ifyou want fingerprint access with a backup key and a full interior measurement in writing.

Skip it ifyou want a keypad as well; the next row adds one.

Check price
Barska AX12760

Barska AX12760

Fire rating: none; Barska's spec table says so. Steel: 2 mm, per Barska; gauge not stated. Interior: 51.75 x 9.7 x 6.3 in. Lock: fingerprint (120 prints), keypad and backup key. Barska states California DOJ certification and five bolts; one Amazon bullet says three. Advertised for 4 long guns without scopes.

Buy it ifyour long guns have no optics and you want fingerprint and keypad, with California DOJ certification stated by Barska.

Skip it ifyour long guns wear optics; 6.3 in of depth fills fast.

Check price
BlackSmith SE0103

BlackSmith SE0103

Fire rating: none claimed. Steel: 2 mm, per BlackSmith; gauge not stated. Interior: not stated; outside 52 x 9.8 x 8.7 in. Lock: keypad with two override keys; 4 AA batteries; door organizer and two pistol pockets. Mounts to the wall between studs with four anchor bolts. Advertised for 3 rifles.

Buy it ifyou can anchor to wall studs and want a keypad safe with a door organizer and two pistol pockets.

Skip it ifyou can't anchor to a wall, or want a fingerprint reader.

Check price
Fortress 4NFBE

Fortress 4NFBE

Fire rating: none; the title says "Non-Fire Safe". Steel: gauge not confirmed. Interior: not stated; outside 54.33 x 11.81 x 11.02 in per Amazon. Lock: fingerprint, keypad and backup key; three 1-inch bolts; interior light and tamper alert. At least the title is honest about fire.

Buy it ifyou want fingerprint, keypad and key on one door, with an interior light and a tamper alert.

Skip it ifyou want maker-confirmed specs; Fortress's site shows images only.

Check price

Related pages

Questions people ask about small gun safes

What is the best small gun safe?

One that holds your actual long guns, scopes included, is anchored, and states its steel and lock clearly. This list sorts small gun safes by fire rating, then steel thickness, so the safes with the most stated protection come first.

What is the best small gun safe for rifles?

Start with interior height and depth, not the gun count. Measure your longest rifle with its optic, then compare it with the interior dimensions in the table. If the interior isn't stated, ask the seller before buying or choose a model that states it.

Do small gun safes have fire ratings?

Some do, but at our last check none of the small gun safes on this list claimed one. Several state outright that they are not fire-rated. If fire protection matters, see our fire-rated gun safe pages.

How many guns fit in a 5-gun safe?

Usually fewer than five once scopes, slings and wider stocks are involved. Advertised counts assume thin, unscoped long guns packed closely. Use the interior dimensions and plan on the lower end of any range.

Should a small gun safe be bolted down?

Yes. A small gun safe is light enough to be carried off if it isn't anchored. Use the pre-drilled holes and follow the manufacturer's instructions for the floor or wall.

Is a small gun safe the same as a gun cabinet?

Not always. A gun cabinet is usually lighter steel with no fire or burglary rating and is meant mainly to control access. Some small gun safes are close to cabinets in construction. Compare the stated steel, lock and anchoring rather than the name on the listing.

Sources

  1. 15 U.S. Code sec. 206 - Standard gauge for sheet and plate iron and steel (Cornell LII) — accessed 2026-10-12
  2. Intertek requirement-change notice: UL 1037 revision 9-9-2016, Section 54 Residential Security Containers — accessed 2026-10-12
  3. Gun Safe Standards (California DOJ, Office of the Attorney General) — accessed 2026-10-12
  4. CPSC Urges Consumers to Immediately Stop Using Biometric Feature on Stack-On Biometric Gun Safes (CPSC) — accessed 2026-10-12
  5. Safe Storage Fact Sheet (U.S. Department of Justice) — accessed 2026-10-12