Best Fireproof Document Safe: Rated for 30 Minutes or More, Sized for Paper
Every document safe listing promises to save your papers; fewer say for how long. This list keeps only the safes, boxes and file cabinets that state a fire rating of 30 minutes or more and fit letter or legal paper, sorted by that rating.
The list
10 models · checked weekly
The ruleDocument safes and boxes rated for 30 minutes or more that fit letter or legal documents, sorted by fire rating.
We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no cost to you. Disclosure
10 models
Comparison tableSort by any column · tap a photo or name to open Amazon
The rule: a stated fire rating and paper that lies flat
Two conditions put a product on this list. Both have to be confirmed in writing, by the manufacturer or the Amazon listing.
Fire rating of 30 minutes or more. A number of minutes, not the word "fire-resistant" on its own.
Fits letter or legal paper. Flat, or in hanging file folders, as the maker or listing states.
Products are sorted by fire rating, longest first, then by test temperature, highest first. The table shows the top ten that pass the rule at our last check. There is no editor's score, no popularity sort and no "our favorite" badge. If a product moves up, it's because its rating is longer, not because anyone liked it more.
The rule applies to document boxes and to fire-rated safes, which includes fire-rated file cabinets. That last group matters. At our last check, most rows that pass are file cabinets with UL labels. That's not a preference. It's what the rule finds when you ask for a written rating and a paper-sized interior.
Why this is the floor for the best safe for documents
A document safe has one job: keep paper below the temperature where it chars, for long enough. Everything else is secondary. So the rule asks the two questions that decide that job.
Time. UL 72 issues fire ratings in fixed steps: 1/2, 1, 2, 3 or 4 hours. The furnace runs hotter for longer ratings, about 1,550°F for half an hour and 1,700°F for one hour, according to UL's own guide information. A 30-minute rating is the shortest step UL issues, which is why it's the floor here. Anything shorter isn't a rating UL would recognize.
Fit. A safe that holds your passport but folds your property deed is half a document safe. Letter paper is 8.5 x 11 in; legal is 8.5 x 14 in. The rule keeps only products whose maker or listing says letter or legal fits, flat or in hanging folders. Check the interior dimensions in the table anyway. "Fits legal" can mean side to side in a drawer, not front to back.
UL describes a fire rating as two parts: a class and a time. The class is the highest temperature the interior reached during the test. Class 350 means the inside stayed under 350°F, and UL says that class is intended to protect paper records. That's the class you want for documents. A UL label that adds "with impact" means the unit was also dropped 30 feet while hot, then put back in the furnace, per UL.
How to read the list: rated, claimed and "—"
Every fire rating in the table carries a source. Read it before the number.
Rated (UL or ETL). An independent lab issued it. FireKing states UL Class 350 labels on its cabinets in this list. One FireKing cabinet carries an ETL rating instead, according to its Amazon listing. Intertek, which issues ETL marks, is an OSHA-recognized testing lab.
Claimed. The manufacturer says so and no lab is named. A listing that says "tested to the UL 72 standard" without a lab or a class still counts as claimed here. Tested to it is not the same as listed under it.
"—" or not confirmed. Nobody we found put that value in writing. It isn't zero. It's unknown.
Here's the catch with ETL "verified" fire claims. Intertek's own directory shows that some verifications on consumer safes use a modified UL 72 method, covering fire endurance only. That's still an independent test, but read the listing for which test it was.
Temperature is the outside furnace temperature, not the inside of the safe. A row reading "60 min at 1,700°F" tells you how hot the test fire was. The class, where stated, tells you how hot the papers got. Where our data has the time and the lab but no temperature, the table shows "—" for temperature. For a UL rating, the time step already implies the furnace temperature, but we show only what the maker or listing states.
Interior sizes for file cabinets are per drawer. Multiply by the number of drawers for a rough total, and remember hanging folder rails take space.
Weight, floors and delivery: the part after the click
A fire rating is mostly insulation, and insulation is heavy. At our last check, the file cabinets on this list ran from about 220 lb for two drawers to well over 900 lb for the largest. The one front-door safe is lighter, but still not something to carry up stairs casually.
Before ordering, check three things.
The floor. A four-drawer cabinet puts its whole weight on a small footprint. Upstairs or on an older floor, that's worth a look before delivery, not after.
The path. Doorways, stair turns and elevators. Compare them with the outside dimensions in the table, including depth, which for some vertical cabinets is over 31 in.
The delivery terms. Heavy items often ship by freight, and curbside delivery means the last stretch is yours. The listing or seller states which.
None of this changes the rating. It decides whether the cabinet ends up where you meant it to, which is half the reason to buy one. Our moving a safe guide covers the last few feet.
What's not in the list, and why
Plenty of document safes don't appear here. The usual reasons:
No stated fire time. "Fireproof" in a title with no minutes doesn't pass. The rule needs a number.
No stated paper fit. A fire-rated safe that may well fit letter paper, but whose listing doesn't say so, is left out. We don't measure on anyone's behalf.
Fire-resistant bags and pouches. They are not safes, and their listings rarely state a time. They have their own page.
Unavailable products. Anything not live on Amazon US at our last check drops out automatically and comes back when it returns.
Amazon's own brands. Never included on this site.
Products in the table can change from week to week as availability and listings change. The rule stays the same.
Who should look elsewhere
This list is built for paper. If your needs are different, other pages fit better.
You store hard drives, USB sticks or photo negatives. Class 350 is for paper. UL's Class 125 is the strictest class and is meant to cover sensitive media too. See media safes.
You need more than a few folders. Start with fire-rated file cabinets, which is the full list without the top-ten limit.
Fire rating: 2 hours, UL Class 350 with impact (UL label, per FireKing); test temperature not stated in our data. Interior: four letter drawers, each 11.56 x 12.94 x 25.13 in. Lock: Medeco key lock, which FireKing describes as UL-listed. The longest rating in this table, and at 927 lb the heaviest piece of paperwork you'll ever own.
Buy it ifyou keep letter-size files and want the longest rating here, 2 hours, UL Class 350 with impact.
Skip it ifyour files are legal size, or your floor and stairs weren't built with 927 lb in mind.
Fire rating: 1 hour at 1,700°F, UL Class 350 with impact (UL label, per FireKing). Interior: two drawers, each 10.38 x 12.19 x 15.13 in; letter, legal and hanging folders per the listing. Lock: key lock. FireKing calls it IP65 water resistant against sprinklers and hoses, with no submersion rating. A full UL rating in a cabinet that fits under a desk.
Buy it ifyou want a full UL Class 350 rating in a two-drawer cabinet that fits under a desk.
Skip it ifyou need more than two drawers or a lock without a key.
Fire rating: 1 hour, UL Class 350 with impact (UL label, per FireKing); 1,700°F from the Amazon listing. Interior: four letter drawers, each 10.38 x 12.19 x 26 in. Lock: Medeco key lock. Water resistance is ETL-verified against sprinklers and fire hoses, not submersion. Deep drawers, a lot of paper, and 573 lb to match.
Buy it ifyou file letter size in deep drawers and want sprinkler and hose water resistance verified by ETL.
Skip it ifyou file legal size; FireKing sells a wider legal version as a separate variant.
Fire rating: 1 hour at 1,700°F, UL Class 350 with impact (UL label, per FireKing). Interior: three legal drawers, each 10.38 x 15.25 x 26 in, plus a safe behind a false top-drawer front. Lock: Medeco key on the drawers, combination lock on the safe. The only row here that hides a second compartment inside the cabinet.
Buy it ifyou file legal size and want a combination-locked safe hidden behind the top drawer front.
Skip it ifyou only file letter size or need it under 698 lb.
Fire rating: 1 hour, UL Class 350 with impact (UL label, per FireKing); test temperature not stated in our data. Interior: two letter drawers, each 10.38 x 12.19 x 19.75 in, hanging folders included. Lock: Medeco key lock. Water resistance is for sprinklers and hoses only. Same rating as the shallower Turtle, with deeper drawers.
Buy it ifyou file letter size and want 19.75 in deep drawers with hanging folders included.
Skip it ifyou need legal-size files or want something lighter than 257 lb.
Fire rating: 1 hour, UL Class 350 with impact (UL label, per FireKing); test temperature not stated in our data. Interior: two drawers, each 10.38 x 12.19 x 15.13 in; letter, legal and hanging folders. Lock: 4-pin key lock. Comes in Arctic White, and a 4-drawer version is a variant. Proof that a fire rating doesn't have to look like a bank lobby.
Buy it ifyou want a UL Class 350 rating in Arctic White, in drawers that take letter and legal folders.
Skip it ifyou want a higher-security lock than a 4-pin key.
Fire rating: 1 hour for the safe and file drawer, ETL-verified per the Amazon listing; temperature not stated. Interior: one file drawer, 10.38 x 12.19 x 15.13 in, plus a concealed 1.3 cu ft safe. Lock: cam lock on the drawer, key lock on the safe. Water resistance not confirmed. The only ETL rating in this list; the rest are UL.
Buy it ifyou want a file drawer and a concealed 1.3 cu ft safe under one 1-hour ETL rating.
Skip it ifyou want a UL label or more than a 1-year warranty.
Fire rating: 1 hour, UL Class 350 with impact (UL label, per FireKing); test temperature not stated in our data. Interior: four lateral drawers, each 10.75 x 38.94 x 15.13 in; letter, legal and hanging folders. Lock: Medeco key lock. Interlocks stop more than one drawer opening at once. An office's worth of files in one rated box.
Buy it ifyou have an office's worth of files, 44.5 in of free wall and a floor that can take 979 lb.
Skip it ifyou have less than 44.5 in of wall or a floor that objects to 979 lb.
Fire rating: 1 hour, UL Class 350 with impact (UL label, per FireKing); test temperature not stated in our data. Interior: four drawers, each 10.38 x 12.19 x 19.75 in; letter front to back, legal side to side. Lock: two key locks, one for each pair of drawers. Warranty is 10-year limited. Amazon calls it a Turtle; the model number says Patriot.
Buy it ifyou want four drawers on two separate key locks, under a 10-year limited warranty.
Skip it ifyou want hanging legal folders front to back.
Fire rating: 30 minutes at 1,700°F, claimed by the manufacturer; the listing says "tested to the UL 72 Standard" but names no lab or class. Interior: not stated; the 3.47 cu ft in the title matches the outside of the box. Lock: keypad with two backup keys. The only front-door safe here, and the only claimed rating.
Buy it ifyou want a keypad front-door safe with two backup keys and can accept a manufacturer-claimed 30-minute rating.
Skip it ifyou want an independent fire label; every other row has one.
Questions people ask about fireproof document safes
What is the best fireproof document safe?
The one with an independent fire rating long enough for your situation and an interior that fits your largest paper flat. On this page that means a stated rating of 30 minutes or more and letter or legal fit. The table shows who issued each rating, so you can choose a lab-rated model over a claimed one.
Is a fire-rated file cabinet better than a document safe?
It depends on volume. A fire-rated file cabinet holds hanging folders in drawers and suits a lot of paper. A front-door safe or chest suits a smaller set of documents and often adds a keypad. The fire rating is read the same way for both: time, class or temperature, and who issued it.
What does UL Class 350 mean for documents?
UL 72 Class 350 means the interior stayed below 350°F during the fire test for the stated time. UL says Class 350 is intended to protect paper records. It is not meant for digital media, which UL covers with the stricter Class 125.
Are these document safes waterproof?
Not by default. Several cabinets here are described as water resistant against sprinklers and fire hoses, with no submersion rating. If water is a concern, look for a separate water rating that states hours, depth and who tested it.
Should a document safe be bolted down?
A fire rating is about heat, not theft. Heavy file cabinets are hard to carry off, but a small safe or chest can be picked up. If theft is part of the worry, choose a model that can be anchored and follow the manufacturer's instructions.
Can I store a hard drive or USB stick in a Class 350 document safe?
Class 350 is meant for paper. UL says Class 125, the strictest class, is intended to also protect sensitive media. FireKing lists a separate ETL digital-media rating for some of its cabinets; check the maker's spec sheet for the exact model. If digital media matters, look for one of those.