Best-of list · rule shown

Best Vehicle Gun Safe: Car Gun Safes That Stay Attached, Sorted by Steel

A car gun safe that isn't attached to the car is a lock box with good intentions. This list keeps only vehicle gun safes that bolt down, fit a console or lock to the vehicle with a steel cable, sorted from the thickest steel to the thinnest.

Illustration of a small steel lock box tethered by a cable to a car seat rail

The list

10 models · checked weekly

The ruleVehicle gun safes that bolt down, fit a console or lock with a cable, sorted from thickest steel.

We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no cost to you. Disclosure

10 models
Comparison tableSort by any column · tap a photo or name to open Amazon
ModelMountingSteelTypeLock / entryGun capacityOutside H · footprintWeightCalifornia DOJAmazon
bolt down floor, bolt down wall14 gaGun safeKeypad + Biometric + Key2 (advertised)40.25 · 13 × 6.5 in——Check price
bolt down floor, bolt down wall14 gaGun safeKeypad + Biometric + Key2 (advertised)47.25 · 13 × 6.5 in—ListedCheck price
SnapSafe 7540275402SnapSafe
bolt down floor, cable tether14 gaGun safeKeypad + Key—5 · 26 × 20 in51 lb—Check price
Hornady 9520095200Hornady
cable tether16 gaLock boxKey—1.75 · 9.5 × 6.5 in4 lb—Check price
Liberty Safe HDV-50-RHDV-50-RLiberty Safe
cable tether16 gaLock boxKey—9.5 · 6.5 × 1.75 in3.01 lb—Check price
Liberty Safe HDV-90-RHDV-90-RLiberty Safe
cable tether16 gaLock boxKey—10.75 · 7.63 × 2.5 in5.1 lb—Check price
RPNB RP2001RP2001RPNB
cable tether16 gaHandgun safeKey—2.44 · 10.24 × 7.99 in4.63 lb—Check price
SnapSafe 7520075200SnapSafe
cable tether16 gaLock boxKey—1.75 · 9.5 × 6.5 in4 lb—Check price
SnapSafe 7524075240SnapSafe
cable tether16 gaLock boxDial—2 · 10 × 7 in——Check price
Tuffy Security Products 320-01320-01Tuffy Security Products
console16 gaVehicle safeKey————Check price

The rule: attached to the vehicle, then sorted by steel

A product makes this list when two things are true and confirmed in writing by the manufacturer or the Amazon listing.

  • It's a vehicle gun safe. Made to hold a handgun in a car or truck, by its maker's own description.
  • It attaches. It bolts to the floor, fits a console, or locks to the vehicle with a steel cable.

The list is then sorted by steel gauge, thickest first. A lower gauge number means thicker steel. Under the federal U.S. Standard Gauge, 14-gauge is 0.0781 in and 16-gauge is 0.0625 in. A safe whose gauge isn't stated still qualifies if it attaches, but it sorts to the bottom, because we can't place it.

The table shows the top ten at our last check. Nobody voted. No editor's score moves a row up or down. If a safe is higher, its steel is thicker. That's the whole ranking.

Why attachment and steel decide the best car gun safe

A gun in a parked car has one obvious risk: someone else takes the box with the gun inside. A loose lock box in a footwell solves the wrong half of that problem. It keeps a passenger's hands off the gun. It doesn't keep the box in the car.

So the rule starts with attachment. There are three kinds in this list.

  • Steel cable. A cable loops around a seat frame or anchor and locks inside the box. The most common style, and the easiest to move between vehicles. The listing should state the cable length and its rating in pounds.
  • Bolt-down. Pre-drilled holes for bolting to the floor or a mounting plate. Harder to remove, and tied to one vehicle.
  • Console. A steel insert made for a specific vehicle's center console. Built for one model and model year range.

Then steel. A small box made of thin steel can be pried open faster than one made of thicker steel, all else equal. Gauge is one of the few hard numbers these listings print, and most car gun safes print it. That makes it the fairest sort key we have.

What the sort doesn't measure: lid design, hinge type, how the cable attaches inside, or the quality of the lock cylinder. None of those come with a number. Read the listing and the manual for them.

How to read the list: steel first, then lock and fit

The table columns, in the order I'd read them:

  • Steel gauge. Lower is thicker. "—" means neither the maker nor the listing states it.
  • Lock and backup. Key, combination, keypad or fingerprint. An electronic lock without a backup key is one dead battery away from a locked box in a parked car.
  • Interior dimensions. Compare these, not "fits most pistols," with your handgun plus any optic, light or spare magazine. Where the interior isn't stated, the table shows the outside.
  • Mounting. Cable, bolt-down or console. Pick the one your vehicle allows before comparing anything else.

Sources matter here too. A value from the manufacturer is marked as such. A value only from the Amazon listing is lower confidence, especially for small brands with no product site of their own. Where the two disagree, we leave the field empty rather than pick one, and the table shows "—."

The fine print on cable ratings: the number is the cable's stated strength, not a test of the whole box. It says nothing about the box, the lid or the lock the cable runs into.

Fit: measure the handgun and the space, not the photo

"Fits most pistols" isn't a measurement. Before buying, measure two things.

  • The handgun. Length, height and width, with any optic, light or holster you plan to store with it. Add a spare magazine if it rides along.
  • The space. Under the seat, in the console, or in the trunk or cargo area, with the seat moved all the way back and forward. Seat rails and wiring take up more room than the listing photo suggests.

Then compare with the interior dimensions in the table. Most boxes on this page are flat, with roughly 1.35 to 2.2 inches of interior height, where stated. That's plenty for a compact pistol and tight for one with an optic or a light. Where only the outside is stated, subtract the walls and the foam.

Last, check where the cable can go. It needs a fixed part of the vehicle to wrap around, such as a seat frame, and a path that doesn't pinch wiring or block a seat adjustment. If the listing includes mounting screws or bolt holes, read the manual for where it expects them to go. Don't drill into a floor pan until you know what's underneath.

Biometric locks: check the model first

Fingerprint locks are fast when they work. Since 2023 the CPSC has announced recalls and warnings for several biometric gun safes because the fingerprint lock could open for unauthorized users. In January 2025 it warned consumers to stop using the biometric feature on about 183,000 Stack-On biometric gun safes, pistol vaults and lock boxes.

If you choose a fingerprint model, check its model number against CPSC notices before you buy. Choose one with a backup key, and keep that key on your key ring, not in the glove box. A car interior also runs hotter and colder than a house. The manual should give an operating temperature range for the lock.

What's not in the list, and why

Some vehicle gun safes don't appear here. The usual reasons:

  • No way to attach it. A box sold without a cable, holes or console fit doesn't pass, however thick its steel.
  • Long-gun cases and racks. This list is for handgun safes. Truck rifle racks and long cases are different products.
  • Headrest and seat-back holster cases. If they don't lock to the vehicle with a cable or bolts, they don't qualify.
  • Unavailable products. Anything not live on Amazon US at our last check drops out and returns when it's back.
  • Amazon's own brands. Never included on this site.

At our last check, one row is an under-bed drawer safe that its Amazon listing says also fits many small SUV trunks. It qualifies on attachment and steel. Measure your cargo area before treating it as a car safe. Products change from week to week; the rule doesn't.

Car gun safes, the law and children

Vehicle storage and transport rules differ by state, and some cities add their own. We don't summarize them, and nothing here is legal advice. Check your state's official government site. California's Department of Justice, for one, publishes its firearm transport rules online.

If children ride in the vehicle, keep the handgun in the locked safe and keep the key or code with you. A safe reduces access only when it is closed and locked.

Who should look elsewhere

  • You want every vehicle safe, attached or not. The car gun safes type page lists all of them, with mounting types explained in more detail.
  • You're storing cash or documents in the car. See car safes.
  • The gun rarely leaves the house. A handgun lock box or a portable gun safe may serve both roles.
  • You want a bedside safe, not a car safe. The best handgun safes list sorts quick-access safes with a backup key by steel.

Pick the mount your vehicle allows, then the thickest steel that fits. Then put the backup key on your key ring and leave the glove box empty.

Model by model

SnapSafe 75402

SnapSafe 75402

Fire rating: none claimed. Steel: 14-gauge, per SnapSafe. Interior: not stated; outside 5 x 26 x 20 in, 51 lb. Lock: keypad with backup key, plus pre-drilled bolt holes and a 5-foot cable. Sold as an under-bed drawer; the Amazon listing says it fits the trunk of many small SUVs. The thickest steel in this list, in the least car-shaped box.

Buy it ifyou drive a small SUV and want 14-gauge steel in the trunk, with a keypad, backup key and 5-foot cable.

Skip it ifit needs to fit under a seat or in a console.

Check price
Hornady 95200

Hornady 95200

Fire rating: none stated. Steel: 16-gauge, per the Amazon listing. Interior: 1.5 x 9.25 x 6.25 in, per Hornady. Lock: barrel key lock, two keys, and a 4 ft steel cable rated at 1,500 lb. The listing says it meets TSA airline firearm guidelines. A plain key box that travels well.

Buy it ifyou fly with a handgun and want a key box the listing says meets TSA airline firearm guidelines.

Skip it ifyou want to open it fast; a key in a dark footwell is not fast.

Check price
Liberty Safe HDV-50-R

Liberty Safe HDV-50-R

Fire rating: none stated. Steel: 16-gauge, per Liberty. Interior: 9.25 x 6.19 x 1.5 in. Lock: key lock with security cable; no batteries. Liberty states it is a California DOJ approved firearm safety device and TSA-compatible. At 3.01 lb, the lightest box on the page.

Buy it ifyou want a 3.01 lb key box with no batteries, stated by Liberty as California DOJ approved and TSA-compatible.

Skip it ifyour handgun carries an optic or light that needs more than 1.5 in of height.

Check price
Liberty Safe HDV-90-R

Liberty Safe HDV-90-R

Fire rating: none stated. Steel: 16-gauge, per Liberty. Interior: 10.5 x 7.13 x 2.13 in. Lock: cylinder key, top-opening lid, security cable. Liberty states it is a California DOJ approved firearm safety device. The roomiest interior among the 16-gauge key boxes here.

Buy it ifyou want a key-locked box with the most interior room among the 16-gauge key boxes here.

Skip it ifyou need keyless entry or a warranty longer than Liberty's stated 1 year.

Check price
RPNB RP2001

RPNB RP2001

Fire rating: none stated. Steel: 16-gauge, per RPNB. Interior: 2.17 x 7.87 x 10.12 in. Lock: key lock with a 3.2 ft steel cable rated at 1,900 lb. RPNB states every dimension inside and out, which saves a tape measure.

Buy it ifyou want a plain key lock with a 3.2 ft steel cable rated at 1,900 lb.

Skip it ifyou want a code or fingerprint lock; RPNB's biometric version is further down.

Check price
SnapSafe 75200

SnapSafe 75200

Fire rating: none stated. Steel: 16-gauge, per SnapSafe. Interior: not stated; outside 6.5 x 9.5 x 1.75 in, and SnapSafe says it fits most 4-inch-barrel pistols. Lock: key, two keys, 4 ft cable rated at 1,500 lb. SnapSafe states California DOJ approval and TSA guideline fit. Lifetime warranty on materials and workmanship.

Buy it ifyour pistol has a 4-inch barrel and you want a key box with a lifetime warranty on materials and workmanship.

Skip it ifyour pistol has a longer barrel; larger sizes are separate variants.

Check price
SnapSafe 75240

SnapSafe 75240

Fire rating: none stated. Steel: 16-gauge, per SnapSafe. Interior: not stated; outside 7 x 10 x 2 in, sized for 1911-type pistols. Lock: 3-digit combination, no key or batteries, 4 ft cable. Weight not confirmed: SnapSafe and Amazon disagree. The keyless option for people who lose keys.

Buy it ifyou own a 1911-type pistol and would rather set a combination than keep track of a key or batteries.

Skip it ifyou want a code longer than three digits.

Check price

Related pages

Questions people ask about vehicle gun safes

What is the best vehicle gun safe?

One that is attached to the vehicle, made of the thickest steel that fits your space, with a lock you can open reliably and a backup you keep on you. This page lists only safes that bolt down, fit a console or lock with a cable, sorted by steel gauge, so you can start from those three points.

Is a cable enough to secure a car gun safe?

A steel cable around a seat frame keeps a box from being lifted out in a moment. It is easier to defeat than bolts. Check the stated cable rating and length, and loop it around a part of the vehicle that can't be unbolted quickly.

Does a car gun safe make it legal to transport a handgun?

It depends on the state. Rules on vehicle storage and transport differ, and some cities add their own. Check your state's official government site. Nothing on this page is legal advice.

Are biometric car gun safes reliable?

Some are and some have been recalled. Since 2023 the CPSC has announced recalls and warnings for several biometric gun safes whose fingerprint locks could open for unauthorized users. Check the model number against CPSC notices before you buy, and choose a model with a backup key.

Should a car gun safe be fire-rated?

None of the vehicle safes on this page claims a fire rating, and small lock boxes rarely do. The job of a car gun safe is to keep the handgun locked and attached to the vehicle.

Sources

  1. Transporting Firearms in California (California Department of Justice) — accessed 2026-10-12
  2. 15 U.S. Code sec. 206 - Standard gauge for sheet and plate iron and steel (Cornell LII) — accessed 2026-10-12
  3. CPSC Urges Consumers to Immediately Stop Using Biometric Feature on Stack-On Biometric Gun Safes (CPSC) — accessed 2026-10-12
  4. Fortress Safe Announces Recall of Biometric Gun Safes (CPSC) — accessed 2026-10-12
  5. Safe Storage of Firearms: Unload it, Lock it, Store it (U.S. Attorney's Office, District of Vermont) — accessed 2026-10-12